My Take on the Journey Called Life

September 8, 2011

My Trip to Kasauli

Filed under: Travel — Neeraj Jain @ 9:48 am
Tags: , ,


Kasauli, Himachal Pradesh, India is a serene and quiet green place located in the foothills of Shivalik Himalayas. Although not as popular as Shimla, Kasauli is easily accessible. It is approximately 330 km from Delhi, the capital of India. For reaching there, you have to keep driving north from Kalka until you reach Dharampura. Take the first left turn from Dharampura to start the ascent up the hills.

My journey to Kasauli started from Chandigarh. Upon reaching Dharampura, I took a minibus. The minibus started only when it was full of passengers. But the cool weather uphill was a welcome relief. The first stop was at Sanawar. Sanawar has a very popular boarding school set up in the 19th century. I wanted to visit this school but skipped due to time constraints. In an hour, after 2 or 3 more steps, I reached the heart of Kasauli, the Mall Road.

After getting down from the bus, I was hungry and took a quick bite of samosas and the much needed “chai”. There were so many roadside shops selling wooden and handicrafts items. Instead of spoiling my journey by negotiating with them, I went to a fixed price store and bought a waist belt.

Now, with sturdy belt on my waist, it was time to take up the 4 km trek to the highest point of Kasauli. Initially, it was taxing on my legs. But, gradually, with more people joining the fun at regular intervals, it started getting easier. At one spot, I bought salty chanas and fed the wild dogs. The wild dogs tried to scare me after eating but I did not budge 🙂

After an hour and a quarter, I reached the highest point in Kasauli. The view and the charm of cool breeze were awesome. I could feel every part of my body being pampered by fresh oxygen. I asked a local resident to take my snaps. He was happy to oblige. The descent was easy. It was getting dark, and I had to go back to Chandigarh. The view of the small lights twinkling amongst the Kasauli hills made my return journey awesome.

Kasauli Travel Guide
THE LAWRENCE SCHOOL, SANAWAR
Kasauli Hotels,Tour Kasauli,Hill Station Kasauli,Kasauli Resort-Himachal

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

